Home‎ > ‎PRESS‎ > ‎

REVIEWS

FABRYKA MUSIC MAGAZINE August 30th, 2013
BY Katarzyna 'NINa' Górnisiewicz,Mike 'Vesper' Dziewoński

Ed Lafuentes has been working as an engineer and producer at Demon Rose Studio in the Bronx, NYC. During this time, he had a chance to collaborate with a variety of artists such as Pantheon, The Cannibals, Laz Pina (Ill Nino, Shang Hi Fye, Broom Hellda) and Dennis Bell (U2, Lenny Kravitz). As a result, his debut album E Magic shows a heavy metal pedigree. Lafuentes' music has been inspired by Black Sabbath, Slayer, Venom, S.O.D., Candlemass, Alice Cooper or Celtic Frost albums. Still, there's additional sampling, better known to industrial music, mixed into the solid rock sound. 

The opening instrumental track "C the Sun" brings a light leitmotif mixed with low tuned bass and slided guitar riffs both enriched with a variety of electronic add-ons. The bass sounds neat and groovy, while the guitars make for a nice contrast with both electronica and drums.
"Breath of God" brings vocals and catchy hooks interlaced with jagged, vibrating guitar riffs. The wall of sound on this track is a result of a skillful combining of guitars, bass and drums. The song is tight and includes memorable arrangements.
The composition of "Anu" leaves space for rhythmic vocals and distorted guitars. Groovy drum beats and bass solidify the track. Since it's quite a long song, the sets of arrangements vary and thus, "Anu" doesn't sound too monothematic. In fact, it sounds like there were at least three musical themes included, each one becoming better developed and more complex as the song progresses.

If you like the heavy and mechanical (yet melodic) vibe of Fear Factory songs with the infamous sound of a drum machine, then "God of War" may be your favourite. Memorable vocal parts and highly pitched, contrasty guitar riffs make it a good track for airplay as well. The vocals seem to be multiplied in a few spots. This technique gives the song an epic, powerful and war-like anthem feel as if the lyrics were sung by a choir of warriors.

"Mission Ea" easily embeds itself in your memory after the first listening. Advancing, pitched guitar riffs with a slightly sentimental vibe make the track sound lighter than it seems to be due to the low tuned, digitally processed arrangements. It's a great track for an action/racing video games since it's instrumental, groovy, hooky, energetic and attractively repetitive.
However, if you need a melodic song which doesn't lack a heavy vibe, then "On the Bar Rock Star" falls into this category. It begins with typical heavy metal riffs, followed by catchy verses almost falling into pop. Yet another wall of sound is supported by the recurring, noisy 'Rock star' vocal phrase. In addition, the truly rocking and fiery mid-part should move everybody, regardless of individual music preferences.

The longest song on the album, "Don't Wake the Dead", begins slowly with a soloing bass and noisy, vibrating guitars. Its mood recalls a lullaby, but not one you may want to sleep to, as the vibe is as haunting as in many Ozzy Osbourne tracks. It's additionally enriched with intriguing electronica and 'crying' guitar riffs.
"King No Name" brings a groovy vibe again, along with repeating, rhythmically spoken verses and screamed choruses. There are a few intriguing, very well composed moments appearing throughout, breaking its seemingly monotone tempo. Then "Live For Ever" comes as another potential hit thanks to the melodic, catchy choruses and tight composition powered by heavy, guitar-driven arrangements. Additional background vocals give it a pop-rock feel, making the song very radio-friendly.

"Save Me" is loaded with very cool beats and techno or even acid house dynamics, on par with the trademark sound of The Prodigy or The Young Gods. The track gets a slightly more lyrical feel later on, eventually returning to the initial dynamic rollercoaster. A hardcore vibe flows out of "N.Y.C.S" thanks to the fast-paced, aggressive drum beats and rapidly shouted lyrics. The bass simply vibrates in the background while the pitched guitar riff gives the song a very cold feel.

The last track, "Magic" seems to be Ed's personal reflection on the subject. It channels Black Sabbath and Alice Cooper's music through the vocals and recurring themes, but also its heavy sound mix of bass, drums and guitars. There are also haunting background samples, illustratively weaving the magical atmosphere throughout the track.

Overall, all twelve songs on this release bring a positive, sensual and nocturnal feel. Several instrumental arrangements (with bits of background vocals sampled here and there) could be instantly deployed in movie trailers, video games or advertisements.
Technically, the rhythm brought by a low tuned bass with noisy, wailing guitars seems to be the most recognizable, key trait of Lafuentes' work on the album. Ed definitely knows how to put his music ideas into conceptual compositions. He keeps the vibe heavy yet mechanical, almost like a Terminator or a tank rolling across the place. Monotony is skillfully avoided through tempo and arrangement changes, but the main theme remains solid in each of the songs. On the downside, a few songs sound too similar to each other. Breaking out of the scheme could bring a slightly fresher feel. Nevertheless, if you like heavy metal music coupled with a modern approach, 
E Magic will undoubtedly hit the spot for you.

(Katarzyna 'NINa' Górnisiewicz, Fabryka Music Magazine, August 30th, 2013. Proofreading: Mike 'Vesper' Dziewoński)
Official | SoundCloud | Facebook | Twitter | ReverbNation | Last.FM | PureVolume | YouTube
Buy this album on: Amazon | iTunes | Bandcamp | eMusic


MarsBands Review July 27, 2013 |

BY MARSBANDS

E LafuentesTime to get a little crazy, music lovers!  Prepare yourself for some of the most brutally magnificent Metal you may ever hear.  E Magic, by E Lafuentes, is powerful, ferocious, melodic album that will get your blood pumping.  And while E Magic falls under the category of Metal music, there are still some very strong elements of Rock which should be more than enough to capture the attention of both Metal and Rock connoisseurs alike.

E Magic isn’t your typical Metal music, in fact, it’s far from it.  Infused with elements of Rock, harmony, melody and most of all, passion, E Magic is an album that you’ll be listening to over and over again.  Each song blends seamlessly from one to the next, creating an album that is cohesive and strong.  E Magic does an excellent job of changing tempos without taking on a sing-song or whimsy type feeling.  Some songs are quite briskly paced while other songs are slower and methodically draw you in to their greatness.

Creating music that is both pleasing to the ears and the mind is not an easy task, though you wouldn’t know it by listening to E Magic.  E Lafuentes appears to effortlessly combine overwhelmingly passionate music with intelligent and emotionally vibrant lyrics.  It’s always a pleasure to listen to music that has been nurtured and carefully crafted.  E Magic, besides being full of some brilliant sounds, is also a masterpiece of emotion and passion.  The lyrics and soul elevate this album from above-average, to out-of-this-world.

My favorite song off the album E Magic was “On The Bar Rock Star” because of the vicious drums and hypnotic vocals; just enough Metal to keep my head-banging, and just enough Rock to keep my blood pumping.  A lot of songs tend to slow down and fade away as they go on.  On The Bar Rock Star didn’t.  As the song progressed, it got louder, stronger, and more vicious.  A beautifully violent song, it has everything you could ever want in a Metal song.  Ferocious vocals, blazing drums, unrelentingly fierce guitar shredding and edgy, and somewhat spooky, vocals.  I also really like “Live For Ever” and “God of War“, so be sure to check those songs out as well.

E Magic, by E Lafuentes, is a must listen for anyone who is a fan of powerful, passionate music – especially if you enjoy Metal.  Give a listen to E Lafuentes below via ReverbNation and let him cast his musical spell on you!  Be sure to give him a Like on Facebook and a follow on Twitter.  And be sure to tell your friends about the awesome music you heard!  Rock on!

E Lafuentes Links

Website  Facebook  Twitter  ReverbNation  SoundCloud  Bandcamp  YouTube  

MARSBANDS.COM


INIDE MUSIC DIGESTOctober 8, 2013  

BY Cyrus Rhodes

E Magic


 

                                                                               

 

 

 

Artist: E Lafuentes

CD: E-Magic

Label: Independent Artist

Website: http://www.elafuentesmagic.com/

Genre: Heavy Metal, Gothic Rock, Hard Rock, Electronica Metal
Sounds Like: Type O’ Negative, Fields of the Nephilim, Poisonblack

Technical Grade: 7/10
Production/ Musicianship Grade: 7/10

Commercial Value: 7/10
Overall Talent Level: 8/10
Songwriting Skills: 9/10
Performance Skill: 8/10

Best Songs: On the Bar Rock Star, Breath of God, Save Me
Weakness: Winded Songs,  Mix (vocals), Vocal Performances (lack of melodic phrasing and pitch), More solos

 

CD REVIEW:

(BRONX) New York based Goth-Electronica-Metal composer, artist E Lafuentes just releases his latest CD E-Magic in 2013. Reading from his bio: There are plenty of magical music in the world but none have touched Ed’s heart and soul like HEAVY METAL, From the darkness of Black Sabbath to the speed of Slayer, The evil of Venom to the hard core of S.O.D.,the doom of Candlemass and the horror of Alice Cooper and the necromantical sounds of Celtic Frost. This music is an onslaught of magic and power that moves the body and stimulates the soul. THUNDERING bass and Chugging guitars, CANNON FIRE DRUMS and a Rainbows of Vocals with WAVE CRASHING Synths come together in a colossal collision of majestic music that is blessed by the God’s and Goddesses themselves, this is E LAFUENTES.

The CD methodically takes of with apocalyptic ”The Sun” a striking low end prelude statement that sets the stage rather way for this catalogue of music and leads you by the hand into Track 2 ”Breath of God.” This piece hits hard with its thrashing rock rhythm, thunderous guitar chords and catchy metal core vocal delivery from Lafuentes. Track 3 "ANU" delivers more of the same raw intensity that slams your ears into submission with its thought provoking lyrical content, impressive vocal ambience and overall apocalyptic melody. The CD doesn’t let up - with Track 4 “God of War” is an interesting piece that whips you around like a wild tornado, with melodic guitar and dynamic vocal intensity from Lafuentes that flows and ebbs it’s way through to emotional fruition. As the CD slowly unfolds I can hear influences ranging from Type O’ Negative, Fields of the Nephilim, and Poisonblack. I can also hear Nine Inch Nails and Rob Zombie. It definitely has the New York retro metal feel to it. I will add that this is one composer that has carved out a unique nice for himself within their unique fusion of sound. The music has everything you would expect from a high octane gothic metal CD but sounds fresh and new. The musical style refuses to be pinned into submission. The vocals are gritty and are deep in your grill, the guitar playing is dark and hot to the touch. Some of the theatrical production touches are impressive and borderline brilliant. The songs themselves are reckless, progressive and packed to the hilt with raw intensity and lyrical content straight from the crypt keeper. Lafuentes' vocal style works with respect to this style of music with its stereotypical jagged edge delivery. What I like most about the music is its intensity, intellectualism and consistency. Lafuentes also does a pretty good job at presenting intellectually stimulating visuals and thought provoking lyrics and subject matter throughout making this a thinking mans Metal. All of this make for a some tasty  marketability. Like a heavy weight boxer the songs keep coming at you one after the other - with no sign of letting up. From methodical “Mission EA, to my personal favorite “On the Bar Rock Star” to melodic “Don’t Wake the Dead” to intense “King No Name” and “Live Forever” to psychedelic “Save Me” this CD pretty much has something for just about everyone. The CD ends with Track 12 "Magic" the perfect finale statements for a CD of this caliber.  

 

All songs over 3.5 minutes tend to drag you to the finish line. I also wish I heard more guitar soloing and top shelf vocal intensity from E Lafuentes on some pieces. Ironically many songs lack blood curling vocal emotion. Though the mix presents some amazing low end punch and frequencies I don't really care how the vocals sit within the sonic space - kind of in the background. To go with this last issue it’s fair to say Lafuentes doesn’t have the greatest baritone in the world. What he lacks in vocal skills he makes up for as a composer, but he lacks the top flight vocal ability, melodic pitch and captivating timber say a Maynard Keenen or Jonathan Davis (Korn) have. As a result the vocals and subsequent songs tend to sound repetitive overall as they lack serious pitch and need more creative melodic phrasing. 

 

The latest CD E-Magic from E Lafuentes is a solid and consistent musical statement from the Bronx, New York. Its strength – the impressive songwriting, musical ambience and theatrics and overall dark theatrical intensity that keeps coming at you song for song. The messages are dark, though provoking, intense and may cause your ears to either bleed of freeze solid.   

 

Cyrus Rhodes

                                                                                      Read the Official Interview

 

                                                                                             

 INDIEMUSICDIGEST.COM




ROCK N ROLL VIEW October 8, 2013  
BY Michael Morrison West Lothian, Scotland (UK)
Edited, approved and posed by Michael Rand. Approved by Drew Blcakwwll (UK)

Most would agree most popular artists out there have something truly special to give to their fans. This goes above the typical attributes like raw talent, amazing songs, nice voice, or even a very marketable look, sound & image. There’s something truly infectious at the core of these artists that simply makes us feel good when we listen to them. Whatever “it” is – they all seem to have “it”. Today I listened to the latest CD from New York based rock project headed by one; E Lafuentes who just released his latest CD “E Magic” (2013). Venturing to his website I get the impression this is one guy that’s extremely determined and passionate about the songwriting craft and being a no holds barred cutting edge metal artist– either out on tour or in the studio. From start to finish this CD delivers the goods and for me personally is a very entertaining musical experience. It pushes hard and has an aggressive Sonic-Rock quality to it, and even dabbles in Classic Heavy Metal and Progressive Hard Rock. It also reminds me of Fear Factory, Pain, Slipnot and Otep. Any fans of any of these musical styles or bands will enjoy this latest release. It’s clearly marketed for those who like a male vocal front and playing that never let’s down its guard. I get the impression E Lafuentes is letting it all hang out via this compelling song line up. In other words he hits the mark remarkably well by just by being who he is musically. Favorite tracks include (Breath of God), (Save Me ) and (The Sun). All songs strike the perfect balance between rock, alternative rock and in your face Sonic Metal. The songwriting is impressive and digs a bit deeper than the next independent artist. This guy is intelectual. Within each one of these pieces E Lafuentes captures something special as he bares his soul and delivers what I would call pure musical mojo. It offers much in the way of passion and compelling-thought provoking lyrical content. The playing from E Lafuentes is spot on and just makes the whole CD even more enjoyable. The vocal abilities from E Lafuentes is pretty much off the charts and the best thing about him. The overall vibe of the production is very defiant, rebellious and a bit dark with pockets of mayhem shining through.

I see E Lafuentes as a diamond in the rough, with an amazing amount of potential. As time goes by we will no doubt hear more from him. I also wouldn’t be surprised to hear his music on Prime Time Metal Radio someday or even in a Video game or on a TV Series of Film. In close most famous artists out there have “it” I’m not so sure what it but E Lafuentes gets my vote for having whatever “it” may be.

Social Networking:

FACEBOOK – http://www.facebook.com/pantheondemon13
TWITTER – http://www.twitter.com/pantheondemon13

Michael Morrison West Lothian, Scotland (UK)
Edited, approved and posed by Michael Rand. Approved by Drew Blcakwwll (UK)

Review comments: therandbrand@gmail.com


Share this:




ROCKNROLLVIEW.COM




INDIE ARTISTS ALLIANCEOctober 8, 2013  
BY Joshua Beach edited by Mindy McCall. Approved by Cyrus Rhodes. 




Over the years we’ve seen rock, pop, and even hard rock slowly erode into over-commercialized, corporate puppet shows providing music that is extremely sing songy, predictable, popish and highly corporate. I hereby call this new breed of music “Poser Rock” and I want to personally thank all the corporate giants for successfully transforming “Sex Drugs & Rock n’ Roll” into “Yoga, Vitamins and Nikelback” Of course millions of musical lemmings don’t know the difference and trust me when I say  not everyone is entertained. Talking to many music fans out there the response is overwhelming. Give me something new, something raw, fresh, give me something real. So across my desk slides the new CD by E Lafuentes an artist that hails fromBronx, New York. His recordings showcase the eclectic songwriting approach: from upbeat, musically-involved pieces to simple, minimalist moody tracks to unusual studio creations all contained therein. On E Magic Lafuentes presents an interesting, melodically-challenging, literate (even uniquely tasteful) collection of songs. It may not be the simplest or shortest collection to digest, but its rewards are manifold, and at the center of each piece and every arrangement is an effective, if often simple, melody. Theses recordings find an artists like E Lafuentes channeling (rather than being inspired or influenced by) a wide array popular-music-history’s critically renowned underground heroes like Deftones, Black Label Society, Bush, Paw and Mastodon. What I heard put a smile on my face. It’s a nice easy flowing record that delivers solid songwriting with a nice highly creative rocking feel. E Lafuentes reminds me of a modern day Black Sabbath with a side of Slayer and Alice in Chains. You will also hear a side of Alternative Rock, and even straight up Hard Rock and Metal along the way. If you like the above bands you should definitely check out this CD. My favorite track is probably “Breath of God” and “Save Me” This CD from E Lafuentes is invigorating. Invigorating in the sense that it will lift your spirits, and give you a sense of hope that real rock music is not officially dead yet. This CD is a solid release with many solid grooves with a guitar driven sound and entertaining vibe. E Lafuentes is one artists that will give you a fresh glimpse of what Rock music is supposed to sound like and takes us back a few years – before everything started sounding like – well like NIKELBACK, DAUGHTRY and LIFEHOUSE!

Score: 9/10 Stars

REVERBNATION: http://www.reverbnation.com/elafuentes

 Joshua Beach edited by Mindy McCall. Approved by Cyrus Rhodes. 

Review Comments: indiemindymccall@gmail.com


MUSIC EMISSIONS 
2013-10-08
BY
Tori Blanchard (UK) edited by Joshua Beach 


E Lafuentes hails from New York with his 2013 release "E Magic" Overall Internet presence for E Lafuentes is rapidly taking shape as I learned a lot about him even before I hit play. The CD hits the deck running with a series of strong songs "The Sun", "Breath of God" and "ANU". All 3 pieces somewhat striking reminiscent of Coal Chamber, Pantera and Godsmack. The guitar/ beat/voice combo are well paired with his songwriting skills makes for a strong culmination of skill sets. The beats on these opener are electronic based . but heavy and thick nonetheless. Lyricss and music are very well thought out/put together. I was instantly hooked to keep listening. Subject matter is equally tied to musical setting and delivers well-crafted vocals and emotional tranquility. Equal parts heartfelt emotion and soaring guitars, he paints images in creative, yet relatable ways. It's evident to the ear that much time has been invested in crafting each song to stand on its own, separate from the next. The overall mix of this album is impressive without outside assistance. It refuses sounds like a bare-bones PC recording, or even a live performance. This contributes to the overall impact of the song. I do however have a few complaints, if they can be called that. This is a CD for a certain type of listening mood. I would not recommend you listen to E Lafuentes on the day you get fired As I made my way from start to finish, there is a near-extreme tonality that was definitely palpable but unorthodox in nature for the vocals. However as the song moved it was constant and similar in consonance. Bottom Line: I wish the vocals were more explosive. Most certainly E Lafuentes has a knack for crafting imagery and instrumentation to complement his vocal style, which made it so surprising there was such little use of minor and dissonance. Vocally I can only describe it as a Production Underdose when I want an overdose of that type of intensity that needs to be at the head with the guitar. It's shall we say to conservative and as some songs goes over 4 minutes I found myself painfully longing for something else to happen within each movement. Not a bad thing, but based on the solidness of the song textures, I was expecting much more chordal variety. Come to think of it I really didn't get hit by any really hard power chords, though the riffing was up to par. Though not overly distracting, his voice was indeed likeable but didn't completely fit with the rest of the song and strengths. With all due respects this CD barely makes a SEVEN of TEN. Overall, this is a very impressive release by E Lafuentes It was an absolute pleasure to get into his mindset and listen to. It will hold a place in my fascinating and dark play list when I really need it. My favorite track is "God of War". E Lafuenstes is a master at bringing together all the flavours of many different musical styles and genres. He is armed with great writing, a brilliant creative mindset. His music is highly original and will no doubt evolve over time into something truly groundbreaking. All of this makes E Lafuentes a much welcomed and unique artist in an overly cut-and-paste industry. If this is his debut single is any evidence, a Freshman offering worth checking out ____ASAP. 

Rating: 7/10

Review comments: joshuabeach9@gmail.com 


                                                                           EL2


ALL WHAT'S ROCK october, 8 2013
BYClay Burton edited by Heather Savage, Approved by Michael Rand.

Bronx based Heavy Metal rocker E Lafuentes seems to making all the right moves. Working with dozens of bands, artists and producers such as Pantheon and the Cannables, Laz Pina (Ill Nino,Shang Hi Fye, Broom Hellda)Dennis Bell(U2,Lenny Cravits) Johnny pyro Lafuentes (Eng,Ill Nino Sound Wars and Sound Method studios)to name a few. EL has cast his musical spell upon the world, inspired by all it’s music’s and peoples EL has forged forth in the world and continued to do what he does best…HEAVY METAL. Make no mistake about it: becoming a household name, for a guy like E Lafuentes is not about them as much it’s about launching a metal revolution. Being on a global platform would allow him to do so much good for the genera – and New York is the perfect launching pad. Straight away it’s clear this 12 track album called “E Magic” is an imaginative return to passion filled Classic Hard Rock fused with the better musical touches of today Progressive Heavy Metal and Electronica. E Lafuentes reminds me of Days of the New, Downface, Kyuss, and even Lamb of God. I can also hear Static-X, Marilyn Manson, John 5 and Wednesday 13. Today music has many people feeling of bit of soullessness – how appropriate I get a CD by a guy like E Lafuentes? This guys is a one man band kind of artist are clearly showcases experienced playing, writing and performing. The album begins in dark fashion with the magnificent ‘The Sun” which is a crisp raid on the senses, laden with hooks and impressive vocal front. The only surprise is that it wasn’t featured in a major motion picture. ‘Breath of God” follows and is a tripped out musical journey that with thunderous guitar solidifying what is in fact the best track on the CD. It’s a classic E Lafuentes number. ‘ANU” makes a great impression and is an exceptional Hard Rock piece showcasing E Lafuentes exceptional playing stylesas a tight knit single unit. I really like “EA Missions’ priceless chorus and lyrics via a compelling vocal feel. In the end E Lafuentes is a real breath of fresh air and a shock to everyday musical system presently in place. In summary ‘E Lafuentes” unleashes everything on “E Magic” and is in itself a great album. Out of the whole album, a few songs are in the category of brilliant, 2 of them are good, and there are only 1 I’d find myself wanting to skip in rotation. I wouldn’t be surprised is E Lafuentes continue to get more popular up in New York. New York is one of the best places for this style of music. It’s also one of the best locales to springboard a musical career from especially live. Need I day more – let get the revolution started.

Rating 8.5/10 Stars

Clay Burton edited by Heather Savage, Approved by Michael Rand.
Review comments – heathresavage5@gmail.com




INDIE SHARK october 8,2013
BY Kelly Macina edited by Markus Druery



                                                                                      
 

The Review One might expect Trance Metal artist E Lafuentes from New York to deliver music that could be categorized as say over the top, overly dark and excessively flashy. I mean this is 2013 and before I even listened to a single note of music from his latest release entitled "E Magic" that’s honestly the impression I got. OK Here we go again “I feel like I’m in a freaking haunted house people". I honestly expected E Lafuentes to be that kind of flipped out Death Metal band with excessive musical showboating and excessively dark messages coupled with neurotic musical ambience. To sharpen my skepticism over the years I’ve heard my share of Metal CD’s – and much of it is lacks a unique freshness or mass marketability appeal. So where am I going with all this? None of the above applies to E Lafuentes. There’s a real sense of musical independence here via this latest self titled work by E Lafuentes – which includes just him at the helm. While everything here is shall I say exceptionally entertaining, and it all covers a pretty wide range of musical styles. A few tracks stand out from the rest for me in particular. “The Sun” is one hell of an opener and one of those songs that delivers a methodical musical build that can be described as pure magic – like the CD title implies. While the movement presents a straight ahead rocked out guitar ambience, somehow this music has more of an organic cinematic feel as the first track hits solid stride. This is definitely a modern example of classic hard rock cut from the same cloth as Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, Motorhead, and Rainbow – all on steroids. It reminds me mostly of Murder Dolls and Drowning Pool – maybe a bit of Lamb of God. I could be wrong but E Lafuentes also possesses a very slight Seattle heavy gunge sound reminiscent of the days where Alice in Chains and Soundgarden ruled the airways. I suspect many of the previously mentioned bands have had an influence. The musicianship and production touches from Fuentes is how shall I say - off the chain. His guitar front is to die for reminiscent of Tool as it sets the heavy standard for this genera. There’s also plenty of cool guitar riffing,  bass playing that sits deep in the pocket, and impressive timekeeping that sets the standard - but above all it shows just how far E Lafuentes can navigate with sheer precision through the uncharted waters of Trance Metal. So are you thinking what I’m thinking? Somehow all the above is not compatible with the superficial musical times we live in?

 

The Bottom Line E Lafuentes and his "E magic" release are one release well-suited for audiences that enjoy all the typical conventions of hard Trance Rock rock and more. Even slight elements of Heavy Metal, Death Metal and even Progressive Hard Rock. Expect great things from E Lafuentes once his cult fanbase gets established in the Bronx. There’s obviously a disgruntled Hard Rocking audience out there just waiting for him to arrive with open arms.  

 

Kelly Macina edited by Markus Druery

Indieshark Music Critic

 

            



Website: http://www.elafuentesmagic.com/

Genre: Trance  Metal, Hard Progressive Rock

Sounds Like: Drowning Pool, Murder Dolls, Black Sabbath

The Good Honest Approach, Deep Messages, Production Touches, Guitar Front

The Bad: Nothing to report

The Ugly: Nothing to report

The Band: 4 out of 5

The Music: 4 out of 5

The Songs: 4 out of 5

The Vibe: 4 out of 5

The Production: 5 out of 5

The Verdict4 out of 5


     4 out of 5


GIG BAND
BY Jonas Koepka edited by Janne Zawa
Published on October 11th, 2013

EL4

Metal guitarist, Singer/Songwriter E Lafuentes hails from New York. EL brings an inspirational approach to modern day Hard Rock or Heavy Metal with a hint of Industrial Speed Metal and guitar driven fusion between the two. I like to call this genera Electro-Metal. First a bit about E Lafuenteas: During my initial research of RRG there were some lines that really jumped out at me. This music is an onslaught of magic and power that moves the body and stimulates the soul. THUNDERING bass and Chugging guitars, CANNON FIRE DRUMS and a Rainbows of Vocals with WAVE CRASHING Synths come together in a colossal collision of majestic music that is blessed by the God’s and Goddesses themselves, this is E LAFUENTES. Well played! “E Magic” combines all of the above with a melodic layered vocal style via above average compositions. All arrangements offer much in the way of charged musical performances and a diverse spectrum of sound that runs full circle. Let me start by saying “E Magic” is the perfect title for a CD like this. It’s kind of magical. E Lafuentes is a production dynamo, like a modern day Trent Reznor. “E Magic” makes a good first impression with “The Sun” and “Breath of God” 2 solid opening tracks. Besides modern Metal one can also appreciate the Industrial overtones with a hint of Electric Hard Rock. The closest thing I would compare E-Magic to would be a zestful combination of Rob Zombie and Ministry. He sounds much more like these 2 artists then NIN by far. The underlying theme here is no-doubt intellectual mayhem. I like his playing style as well –no over the top showboat or anything like that. You know ridiculous over the top double bass chops and crisp 32nd note speed picking that’s impossible to play live – lol. The array of instrumentation offers everything one would expect but besides the a-typical (bass/guitar/drums) one can also enjoy a theatrical balance, harmonies, melodic solo guitar and some synth and Keyboard. The Heavy Metal quality is the perfect foundation to really torque your senses or work out to. E Lafuentes is not afraid to color outside the lines shall we say. “King No Name” and “N.Y C S” are more diverse tracks. Other pieces provide a think dance pulsating beat but manage to never overtake the other aspects of the production. The end of the album incorporates all of the aforementioned stylings into a whirlwind of musical magic that slowly fades out as humbly as it began on the final track “Magic.”

BOTTOM LINE E Lafuentes makes a lasting impression upon a listener. His amazing dark syncopation and writing/performing skills are never one called into question. “E-Magic” creates a cinematically dynamic musical setting that highlights all the good about great Heavy Metal. All songs offer a wide array of musical depth and structure – offering a great balance of songs.

E Lafuentes – E Magic

Rating:  3.5stars (out of 5)

Official URLhttp://www.elafuentesmagic.com

 

Review by Jonas Koepka edited by Janne Zawa

Review comments: jannezawa@gmail.com



MUSIC NEWS NASHVILL

Posted on October 14, 2013 by Dan Harr Trace Whittaker, edited by Joshua Beach


e-lafuentes_e-magicEnter E LaFuentes: one of those singular composers based out of New York who just released his latest CD entitled ”E Magic”. On the upside, you can expect an experienced composer and songwriter to champion high intensity vocal ability against the polished sounding backdrop of a heavy and sinister sound. I would not classify E LaFuentes as Heavy Metal. I would classify him Alternative Industrial Metal. E-Magic is what you get when Rob Zombie and NIN have a child. With E LaFuentes you get 12 impassioned tracks of spot-on Alternative Metal that are sure to inspire and gravitate many listeners. The arrangements are pretty straight forward yet meticulous in their own right.

Ninety seconds into the first track “The Sun” two of the first things crossing your mind is: 1) How undeniably truthful and honest the music sounds, and 2) why the heck haven’t I heard of E LaFuentes before. But let’s not get to ahead of ourselves here. Track 1 “The Sun” gets things off the ground nicely offering an intense, almost a Hard Rock statement leading you into Track 2 “Breath of God” another hard hitting staple. Track 3 “ANU” is a loud affirmation that just seems to go stay with you long after the song is over. While “Mission EA’ delivers more complex vocal abilities. The CD as a whole does a nice job at offering a wide variety of songs; some slow, some fast, some hard some not so hard. All passionate, while some are even Mechanically driving.

E LaFuentes has a lot of artistic appeal no doubt. Bring in the vocals of E LaFuentes you will hear a clear as mud voice with a jagged edge delivery. It’s the rock standard and coupled with inspirational subject matter and lyrics for today’s modern rocker you begin to understand why this guy is making a name for themselves up in New York. The lyrics are powerful and full of intrigue, passion, and wisdom. Ironically enough a lot of this material would sound fine on a Powerman 5000 CD but I can also hear a bit of Machine Head, Mudvayne, Combchrist, Five Finger Death Punch and Soil. My favorite track is: EA Mission.

Despite the above E Magic has some issues. CD is freaking beyond repetitive. 5 tracks into it you are gasping for air. I was thinking when is this song going to wrap up. Maybe some alternate tunings, some solo guitar, a wider vocabulary of drums would improve things a bit. I also didn’t remember one really good scream on this whole album. If there was one I sure as hell don’t remember it. E LaFuentes – if you are reading this right no take my advice and listen the scream on “The Grudge” by Tool at around minute 7;00 – do more of this!

E LaFuentes does a marvelous job of extolling emotional energy and passion via a strong and impressive 12 song package called “E-Magic.” This CD has a bit of everything for a bit of everybody. E LaFuentes is defiantly headed in the right direction. E Magic is a great start and a brilliant foundation to build a magnificent Kingdom upon no doubt

Score: 6.5/10

For more, visit www.elafuentesmagic.com


SKOPE MAGAZINEBY
Kim Muncie edited by Markus Druery
October 8, 2013
                                                                       EL7

Combining years of musical experience, this guitarist/composer/songwriter known as E. Fuentes has been around for many years around New York under our radar –until now. Melding a unique yet accessible blend of aggressive guitars, polyrhythmic beats, tasty keyboards, groove-ridden bass lines and infectious vocals, the E. Fuentes sound is a testament to how this Bronx based artist insists on shifting the face of Hard Rock, Metal of Industrial Metal. Enter the mind musing, cosmic trip of his latest fill length CD entitled E-Magic and you will see this is really an Old Scholl Hard Rock composer with a modern sounding flair. This dark opus skirts the lines of life and death, love and loss, and everything in between. It’s a primal scream and very human blend of E. Fuentes’s progressive yet accessible signature jagged edge rock sound. Indeed intelligent lyrics and catchy melody lines are the heart of his formula. The music brings complex tunes, heartfelt rhythms and melodies, and an element of Heavy-Prog-Metal together via a high-energy release that’s sure to provoke a positive reaction from every listener that gives them just a minute of their time.  At the end of the day E Magic is an exciting albumfull of music that will push the envelope. The songs on the album are a mixture of songs that encourage you to tap your foot, but also offer a mixture of dark and foreboding sounds, topics and a wild musical landscape that will keep you guessing or wondering what’s around the next corner. From sonic-theatrical “The Sun” to more intense “Breath of God” one of their more impressive tracks, to the more trippy “Live for Ever” and “God of War” to melodic “King no Name” there’s something here for old and new rockers alike. Criticisms: E. Fuentes needs to take some vocal lessons. His vocal appeal is lackluster at best and he needs to stack up to where his writing level is. Right now it’s way behind. Drums sound kind of corny, overly sonic and cheesy. Despite this E. Fuentes offers a unique opportunity to sit back and see where the wild journey takes you via an interesting CD that will remind you of Alice in Chains, Rob Zombie, White Zombie, Scum of the Earth, Powerman 5000 and even Temple of the Dog. E Fuentes is a Bronx based project worth checking out live or via studio recordings, but their hard sound captures the essence of Hard Industrial Rock at its roots.

URLhttp://www.elafuentesmagic.com

REVERBNATION: http://www.reverbnation.com/elafuentes

Rating 7.5/10

by Kim Muncie edited by Markus Druery
Review comments: 
marktheshark972@gmail.com



GIG BAND by Jonas Koepka edited by Janne Zawa
Published on October 11th, 2013

EL4

Metal guitarist, Singer/Songwriter E Lafuentes hails from New York. EL brings an inspirational approach to modern day Hard Rock or Heavy Metal with a hint of Industrial Speed Metal and guitar driven fusion between the two. I like to call this genera Electro-Metal. First a bit about E Lafuenteas: During my initial research of RRG there were some lines that really jumped out at me. This music is an onslaught of magic and power that moves the body and stimulates the soul. THUNDERING bass and Chugging guitars, CANNON FIRE DRUMS and a Rainbows of Vocals with WAVE CRASHING Synths come together in a colossal collision of majestic music that is blessed by the God’s and Goddesses themselves, this is E LAFUENTES. Well played! “E Magic” combines all of the above with a melodic layered vocal style via above average compositions. All arrangements offer much in the way of charged musical performances and a diverse spectrum of sound that runs full circle. Let me start by saying “E Magic” is the perfect title for a CD like this. It’s kind of magical. E Lafuentes is a production dynamo, like a modern day Trent Reznor. “E Magic” makes a good first impression with “The Sun” and “Breath of God” 2 solid opening tracks. Besides modern Metal one can also appreciate the Industrial overtones with a hint of Electric Hard Rock. The closest thing I would compare E-Magic to would be a zestful combination of Rob Zombie and Ministry. He sounds much more like these 2 artists then NIN by far. The underlying theme here is no-doubt intellectual mayhem. I like his playing style as well –no over the top showboat or anything like that. You know ridiculous over the top double bass chops and crisp 32nd note speed picking that’s impossible to play live – lol. The array of instrumentation offers everything one would expect but besides the a-typical (bass/guitar/drums) one can also enjoy a theatrical balance, harmonies, melodic solo guitar and some synth and Keyboard. The Heavy Metal quality is the perfect foundation to really torque your senses or work out to. E Lafuentes is not afraid to color outside the lines shall we say. “King No Name” and “N.Y C S” are more diverse tracks. Other pieces provide a think dance pulsating beat but manage to never overtake the other aspects of the production. The end of the album incorporates all of the aforementioned stylings into a whirlwind of musical magic that slowly fades out as humbly as it began on the final track “Magic.”

BOTTOM LINE E Lafuentes makes a lasting impression upon a listener. His amazing dark syncopation and writing/performing skills are never one called into question. “E-Magic” creates a cinematically dynamic musical setting that highlights all the good about great Heavy Metal. All songs offer a wide array of musical depth and structure – offering a great balance of songs.

E Lafuentes – E Magic

Rating:  3.5stars (out of 5)

Official URL: http://www.elafuentesmagic.com

 

Review by Jonas Koepka edited by Janne Zawa

Review comments: jannezawa@gmail.com

VENTS MAGAZINE

E Magic 

E Magic, E Lafuentes

E Lafuentes is a 1 piece band from New York. 1 piece meaning he’s like a Trent Reznor or a Beck. New York can at times be a very beautiful place and it has its fair share of deadly and unpredictable weather lately. This might just be the perfect locale to explore the unpredictable realm of dark musical expression. This latest CD E-Magic from E Lafuentes delivers all of the above and will reveal all the a-typical conventions of today’s hard rock that so many enjoy her in the US. The band which features E Lafentes (Guitars/Vocals/Programming) does a good job at crating a solid dark aural space for the listener to bask in. The first track “The Sun” lifts off the ground smoothly yet aggressively and is in itself a kick ass first statement to say the least. It was compelling and gravitated me right away like a magnet. All songs present a stunning collection of music that effectively runs the rock gamut and has much to offer insofar as impressive music and captivating vocals. Musical comparables for me include Ministry, Korn, Dope, Mushroomed and Slayer. One cannot help but admire artists with strong songwriting skills and truthful conviction all the while demonstrating a strong a level of creativity. One senses a growing ambition as E-Magic advances. E Lafuentes demonstrates appealing guitar and vocals that really hit the mark and with intellectually stimulating lyrics. The musicianship is rock steady and the overall production value tows the line. All in all a great set of songs. Speaking of which notable standouts for me include: “Breath of God” and “ANU”. Guitar sounds great however the Drums, Rhythms and d Beats sound one sided lacking dimension and depth. E Lafuentes needs to bring in a pro caliber drummer of Drum Programmer. There’s a lot of musical meandering going on here. Tool loves to do this. E Lafuentes needs to trim off 20% of the fat on all his songs. These songs do not fit well into  Progressive Metal territory either – so the long song approach here is a stretch. If you want a melodic rocking staple there’s something on this record for you. Obviously many old school rockers will fall head over heels with E Lafuentes here on the West Coast. This is one artist that’s set up rather well for mainstream success along the east coast and beyond this year. Some of this plays into strong marketability potential world wide. Some pieces present more modern sounding overtones but despite all this the flavor possess traditional Metalcore textures with some traditional Sonic Metal thrown in. This is really what makes E Lafuentes so enticing to me personally. E Lafuentes possesses an impressive and youthful look and sound. This latest release grants one rare access to peer into the soul of a quintessential artist and tormented soul that none of us can get enough of – past and present.

 (3.5/5)

Review by Blaine Calhoun

edited by J.J. McCall
Review comments: johnmccall964@gmail.com


MUSIC NEWS LOS ANGELES

E LaFuentes – E-Magic

Posted on October 14, 2013 by Dan Harr

by Trace Whittaker, edited by Joshua Beach

e-lafuentes_e-magic

Enter E Lafuentes: one of those singular composers based out of New York who just released his latest CD entitled ”E Magic”. On the upside, you can expect an experienced composer and songwriter to champion high intensity vocal ability against the polished sounding backdrop of a heavy and sinister sound. I would not classify E Lafuentes as Heavy Metal. I would classify him Alternative Industrial Metal. E-Magic is what you get when Rob Zombie and NIN have a child. With E Lafuentes you get 12 impassioned tracks of spot-on Alternative Metal that are sure to inspire and gravitate many listeners.

The arrangements are pretty straight forward yet meticulous in their own right. Ninety seconds into the first track “The Sun” two of the first things crossing your mind is: 1) How undeniably truthful and honest the music sounds, and 2) why the heck haven’t I heard of E Lafuentes before. But let’s not get to ahead of ourselves here. Track 1 “The Sun” gets things off the ground nicely offering an intense, almost a Hard Rock statement leading you into Track 2 “Breath of God” another hard hitting staple. Track 3 “ANU” is a loud affirmation that just seems to go stay with you long after the song is over. While “Mission EA’ delivers more complex vocal abilities. The CD as a whole does a nice job at offering a wide variety of songs; some slow, some fast, some hard some not so hard.All passionate, while some are even Mechanically driving.

E Lafuentes has a lot of artistic appeal no doubt. Bring in the vocals of E Lafuentes you will hear a clear as mud voice with a jagged edge delivery. It’s the rock standard and coupled with inspirational subject matter and lyrics for today’s modern rocker you begin to understand why this guy is making a name for themselves up in New York. The lyrics are powerful and full of intrigue, passion, and wisdom. Ironically enough a lot of this material would sound fine on a Powerman 5000 CD but I can also hear a bit of Machine Head, Mudvayne, Combchrist, Five Finger Death Punch and Soil. My favorite track is: EA Mission.

Despite the above E Magic has some issues. CD is freaking beyond repetitive. 5 tracks into it you are gasping for air. I was thinking when is this song going to wrap up. Maybe some alternate tunings, some solo guitar, a wider vocabulary of drums would improve things a bit. I also didn’t remember one really good scream on this whole album. If there was one I sure as hell don’t remember it. E Lafuentes – if you are reading this right no take my advice and listen the scream on “The Grudge” by Tool at around minute 7;00 – do more of this!

E Lafuentes does a marvelous job of extolling emotional energy and passion via a strong and impressive 12 song package called “E-Magic.” This CD has a bit of everything for a bit of everybody. E Lafuentes is defiantly headed in the right direction. E Magic is a great start and a brilliant foundation to build a magnificent Kingdom upon no doubt

Score: 6.5/10


Comments